Jennifer Lawrence covers Harper’s Bazaar May issue


Jennifer Lawrence is the cover story in the upcoming May 2016 issue of Harper’s Bazaar. The feature includes a new photoshoot and interview. She talks about body aesthetics, feminism, fashion and more.

Lawrence doesn’t need anything explained to her—she is at the peak of her powers. Her confidence is palpable, her conversation both bantering and impatient. You can understand why her friends are so famed, such ballers, because to be Lawrence’s friend, balls are a requirement. “I can feel people sometimes are intimidated by me, but I try to do the best I can to offset that,” she says. “There is zero reason to be intimidated by me. At all. But I also understand it.”

hd-aspect-1459874430-hbz-jennifer-lawrence-may-2016-09

Lawrence’s outspokenness reached a crescendo with her essay for Lena Dunham’s Lenny newsletter last year about equal pay in Hollywood. “I had no idea it was going to blow up like that,” she recalls. “And I obviously only absorbed the negative. I didn’t pay any attention to the positive feedback. My parents get really upset. They do not like me speaking out about anything political because it’s hard to see your kid take criticism. But, really, people who criticized it are people who think women should not be paid the same as men. So I don’t really care what those people think.” At the Golden Globes, host Ricky Gervais cracked, “Jennifer Lawrence … demanded equal pay for women in Hollywood, and she received overwhelming support from people everywhere. There were marches … with nurses and factory workers saying, ‘How the hell can a 25-year-old live on 52 million?’ ” The camera switched to Lawrence laughing appropriately. “I try not to be too sensitive to the ‘poor rich girl’ jokes,” she explains. “I was saying my reality is absolutely fabulous, but it is not the reality of a lot of women in America. That’s what I’m talking about.”

Read the full feature here.

One thought on “Jennifer Lawrence covers Harper’s Bazaar May issue

  1. She is a human being just like the rest of us…. the big differance is that she possess a talent we admire and want to see more of. I read an article she was interviewed for in which she spoke of having lived four years of her young life doing this movie series…she indicated she grew up with the stories in progression just as her charactor did. I hope she stays as grounded as she did in that interview and moves on to new diversified projects with as much class and poise as she showed in this series’ story line. I look forward to further developments from her.
    Stay safe……

    Like

Leave a Reply

