Photos & Interview: Jennifer Lawrence Covers December Issue of Vogue

Jennifer Lawrence is on the December issue of Vogue.  In her interview, Jennifer talks about The Hunger Games, working with David O. Russell, Passengers, and her puppy.  You can read a snippet of the interview below, and head over to Vogue to read the entire interview!

You can view the cover and pictures from the photoshoot for Vogue below:

Nina Jacobson, who produced all four Hunger Games movies, can’t help seeing the connections between Lawrence and Katniss Everdeen, the character that made her so famous. “It’s endlessly meta,” says Jacobson. “This idea of whether I want people to watch and listen or not, they are, so I better have something to say.” It’s rare to hear a box-office heavyweight be so outspoken. “She’s feisty, a real fighter,” says Elizabeth Banks, another Hunger Games costar. “That’s the reason that Katniss really works on her. It’s a little bit of her-against-the-world now, you know? When the world shows up at your doorstep and wants a lot of things from you, you get a little punk-rock.”

More evidence of Lawrence’s newfound voice showed up in mid-October in Lenny, the feminist newsletter from Lena Dunham and her Girls co–show runner, Jenni Konner, in which Lawrence published an essay titled, “Why Do I Make Less than My Male Co-Stars?” It’s staggering to realize that the highest-paid actress in the world gets paid millions less than male stars doing the same work. “When the Sony hack happened,” wrote Lawrence, “and I found out how much less I was being paid than the lucky people with dicks, I didn’t get mad at Sony. I got mad at myself. I failed as a negotiator because I gave up early. . . . I didn’t want to seem ‘difficult’ or ‘spoiled.’ ” The essay touched a nerve; no less than Hillary Clinton tweeted, “Brava.”

But there was a certain amount of backlash, too, which seemed to take Lawrence by surprise. “What I was trying to say is that we’re not victims. I am holding my own self back. The men aren’t to be blamed for asking for more and getting it.” As we’re all discovering, Lawrence is constitutionally unable to not say what she thinks. She herself calls it “a taboo impulsivity: If you shouldn’t say it, it’s all of a sudden coming out of my mouth.”

Leave a Reply

