Willow Shields talks Prim's fate, Jennifer Lawrence and more with Cosmopolitan

Spanish National Team Sighting In Sopot -  UEFA EURO 2012

Actress Willow Shields chatted with Cosmopolitan about working with Jennifer Lawrence, being a fan of Lorde and the fate of her character, Primrose Everdeen, among other things.

Check out excerpts from the interview below:

You get such a greater sense of Katniss and Prim’s sisterhood.
Honestly, that’s my favorite part about this character, is the relationship between her and Katniss. Because throughout this whole series, it’s the only true, genuine love relationship. Other relationships you’re not certain of throughout, and Katniss isn’t either, but she is always certain of her love for Prim.

Is Jennifer kind of like a sister to you?
Yeah, definitely! As I’ve gotten older though, she’s become more of a really great friend to me; a great friend and a mentor. Growing up alongside her has been really fun.

There’s a pretty intense air raid scene in the film that is centered on Prim and Katniss. What was that like to shoot?
I’m not used to doing any action as Prim. So for me, it was very fun, because it’s like, you’re drenched! It was a great workout, because I was carrying a 20-pound cat while running down stairs, soaking wet. So, fun stuff! New workout plan!

And the cat acting in that scene is unbelievable! What’s he’s like?
Orion! He’s a very sweet cat, and Jen and I love having the cat around. It was so calm and sweet and well trained. I didn’t know you could train a cat, but I guess it’s true. It was a fun, different actor to work with.

Where do you stand on the Team Peeta and Team Gale debate?
I’m Team Katniss! Are you kidding me? [Laughs] Girl power! Yeah, I remember I came up with that when I was, like, 10. When I was 10, I read the books — and I was not necessarily thinking about her unsure relationships between Peeta and Gale, but I was thinking about her for sure love for Prim and her family and her fight, and I love how the story, to me, is about one girl who is trying to step up and save many people. She’s a fighter. So, for that, I’m Team Katniss, definitely.

of fame that she is at scary to you at all?
No, because she doesn’t act like she’s at that level of fame. To me, it’s like she acts like any other girl her age, but with a lot of responsibility, like a lot of girls her age. She takes everything in stride, she handles herself beautifully, and she’s so funny and down-to-earth. It’s always crazy, even to me, to hear her name, “Jennifer Lawrence.” It’s become a huge thing, just her name. To me, she’s Jen. She’s like this totally normal, fun, crazy girl. So I think it doesn’t intimidate me because of that.

[SPOILERS AHEAD IF YOU HAVEN’T READ MOCKINGJAY.]

In Part II, Prim is going to be doing some different stuff, and there’s a fairly major plot point that centers on her. … Your character dies. What was it like reading that in the script and book?
Well, when I read it, it was — I mean, obviously it’s heartbreaking. For anybody to read that, it’s heartbreaking, but I give so much props to [author] Suzanne Collins, and I almost appreciate it, because I think what she was trying to showcase in writing that is how brutal their world is and how awful it is and how nobody in the Capitol has any heart. It’s just trying to bring across that point, and I love that about Mockingjay — it’s starting to bring across that point of why this is happening and why the war needs to happen in a way, so I think that was very important. But, yeah, it was very heartbreaking, obviously, for all the readers too. But I think it proved something, which was great.

There was a little controversy about how Prim’s death is treated in the book: It’s not a large scene. Is that approached differently in the film?
Well, the way we did it, we’ve always been wanting to keep it as close to the book as possible, so that was the plan. I’m excited for people to see it; it’s a wonderful scene. We tried to keep it as close to the book as we possibly could.

Read more at Cosmopolitan.

One thought on “Willow Shields talks Prim's fate, Jennifer Lawrence and more with Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

