Sam Claflin featured in Hunger Magazine; talks 'The Hunger Games', Finnick Odair

Sam Claflin is featured in Hunger Magazine‘s sixth issue, which is out now. The magazine released outtakes from the photoshoot which can be seen in the gallery here.

The pictures accompanied an interview, and you can read the excerpts related to The Hunger Games below. There’s some talk about Finnick Odair‘s fate, so if you haven’t read the books and wish to avoid the spoiler, be warned!

 

YOU’VE SAID BEFORE THAT YOU’RE NOT INTERESTED IN FAME. BEING PART OF THE HUNGER GAMES TRILOGY, DO YOU THINK IT’S SOMETHING YOU’RE GOING TO HAVE TO GET USED TO?

Maybe, but it’s hard to predict. I didn’t do the movie to be famous. I chose to do it partly as a way to get my face and name out there and to hopefully open a few more doors, but also because it’s a project that I’m hugely interested in. I watched the first movie and I was a huge fan, so it has been a real creative curve in my career to be able to work with this incredible cast of actors, directors and producers on [something] that I’m proud to watch back.

THE HUNGER GAMES IS A HUGE HOLLYWOOD BLOCKBUSTER. DO YOU THINK THAT TO MAKE IT AS AN ACTOR THESE DAYS YOU HAVE TO HAVE HOLLYWOOD IN YOUR SIGHTS?

To be one hundred percent honest, I did not at allhave Hollywood in my sights when I left dramaschool. I just never assumed that it was a possibledream. Part of me was expecting to lose from dayone, and I definitely had no higher hopes than to be on the stage in some sort of touring production.

HOW IS THE THIRD INSTALMENT OF THE HUNGER GAMES COMING ALONG?

We’re actually filming it now, and as much as I’m enjoying being back in London and having a lovely month off, it’s going full steam ahead. I’ve only filmed one day so far!

HOW INVESTED ARE YOU IN YOUR CHARACTER FINNICK? HE COMES TO QUITE A GRISLY END.

It’s definitely going to be difficult to admit defeat, but it’s all to look forward to, and I don’t know exactly how it’s going to play out. Sometimes the unknown is more exciting.

INITIALLY YOU GOT A FEW NEGATIVE COMMENTS WHEN YOU WERE CAST FOR THE ROLE. HOW DOES NEGATIVE PRESS AFFECT YOU?

If anyone were to say that it didn’t affect them, I think they’d be lying. I genuinely think that itaffected me in a good way, though. It drove me to work harder and made me want to prove to theworld and to those doubters that I could do it. I found Finnick a very difficult character to play because he’s sexy and tanned and blond, and I’m none of those things, so a transformation was in order. Physically I spent months and months in the gym. Whether or not I did the character justice isn’t for me to decide.

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

