Watch: Jena Malone in her new music video 'Broken Hearted Love Song'

Johanna Mason actress Jena Malone‘s band The Shoe released a new music video for their single Broken Hearted Love Song. Elle debuted the video and Jena talked about the song, the video and how the band is another artistic outlet, just like films.

The track “Broken Hearted Love Song” emerged because Malone wanted to include a Townes Van Zandt cover on the album. But listening to the country artist’s classic songs, Malone found that the masculine point of view was too strong for her liking. “I just said, ‘Fuck, I wanna write my own country tune,’” she says. The ethereal video for the song, which ELLE.com is premiering exclusively, below, was directed by Benjamin Kutsko. Malone worked with the director on her vision of using double exposure to create a narrative to go along with the music.

For Malone, The Shoe is a distinctly personal outlet for her artistic vision, but it also has its parallels to film. “Both are so similar and so different,”she says. “All I know is before I step on set I’m a giant bundle of nerves. I feel like I wanna throw up. Every single time. And I feel the same way before I step on stage. It is the beginning of transformation. And then it’s pure blind glory.”

Watch the video below:

The album, I’m Okay, is a collection of vintage pop songs set to release on June 3. You can pre-order it on iTunes here.

Leave a Reply

